today’s book haul

Well, I’m out sick again today.  I woke up last night with an earache.  After a visit to a clinic, it was determined that I have a sinus infection and an ear infection.  Antibiotics, here we come!

But I will not be deterred.  I paid a visit today to one of my all-time favorite bookstores, Elder’s here in Nashville, with squirreled away Christmas cash and a gift certificate in hand.  The last time I was in several months ago, a copy of Moses Lard’s 1857 review of Jeremiah Jeter’s Campbellism Examined, was calling to me from the shelf.  I didn’t buy it then, and it wasn’t there this time.  Even so, I was not disappointed.  Here’s what I came away with:

1) A copy of the 1837 debate between Alexander Campbell and John B. Purcell, Roman Catholic Bishop of Cincinnati.  Campbell’s debates are next to impossible to find, so I jumped at this one.  The edition I purchased today is a 1914 McQuiddy Printing Company reprint that is in excellent shape.

2) Two volumes from the College Press “Restoration Reprint Library”:

-one volume containing Robert Milligan’s 1863 Brief Treatise on Prayer and Robert Richardson’s Communings in the Sanctuary.  I already have a copy of New Leaf’s reprint of Richardson, but after reading Milligan on prayer some months ago (especially on prayer posture) I wanted to add this to my library.

-another volume containing J.B. Rotherham’s Studies in the Epistle to the Hebrews (1906) and Ashley S. Johnson’s Thirteen Expository Sermons on the Book of Hebrews (1896).  Rotherham was one of the brightest minds of the British Churches of Christ.  His book on the Lord’s Supper, Let Us Keep the Feast, is one of the best to come out of the Stone-Campbell Movement.  Johnson was the president of the School of the Evangelists from 1893-1925 (now Johnson Bible College in Knoxville, affiliated with the independent Christian Churches).

3) Lastly, on a totally different note, Peter Taylor’s A Summons to Memphis, which won the Pulitzer Prize for 1987.

One response to “today’s book haul

  1. Chris, My sympathies on your ear and sinus infections. I definitely feel your pain (and have been there many a time myself)! Best wishes for a speedy recovery, and hopes we’ll talk again soon. MH

Leave a Reply

