I’m back

I think that’s probably the fourth or fifth post I’ve used that title for a blog post. That’s kind of sad…

Anyway, I’m back from a summer posting drought. It was a busy, but rewarding, summer. I defended my masters’ thesis and received my degree from UGA (on 4 August it was official). I had an excellent time attending the Ekklesia Project Summer Gathering in Chicago in July. I completed a really enjoyable course on 1/2 Corinthians over the summer at Lipscomb, in which I wrote an exegesis paper on 1 Cor 11.2-16. I’m still trying to figure out the best way to post part or all of it…as a discussion starter, of course. I spent a good bit of time at the Disciples of Christ Historical Society volunteering by helping to arrange boxes of church bulletins from a variety of non-institutional Church of Christ congregations in Indiana, Kentucky and Tennessee.

I just began fall classes this week; I’m signed up for Jeremiah/Lamentations and Synoptic Gospels. I’m also trying to audit an Augustine course at Vanderbilt this semester — not sure I’ll be able to work that out, though. One of the textbooks is Serge Lancel’s new bio of Augustine. I’m going part-time and trying to find, unsuccessfully thusfar, a full-time job.

Other projects are percolating as well: I’m attempting to turn the second chapter of my thesis into a publishable article; Hannah and I are looking for a house, focusing mostly on East Nashville. Current reading projects include Jean Danielou’s book on Origen, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and Henry Chadwick’s The Early Church.

Some conversations with friends this summer led me to dig up part of my collection of Fugitive and Agrarian lit. I’m remembering why I liked this stuff so much. I expect to post some choice quotes from those texts over the next few weeks, as my spotty internet access allows.

Greetings to all!

Leave a Reply

