update

Work and school continue apace.  I had a wonderful time in OT Interpretation two weeks ago and the reading and final exam for that are now complete.  The second half of the semester will be considerably less stressful than the first.

Anyway…

I’m currently reading Athanasius’ De synodis (on the councils of Ariminium and Seleucia in 359) and the relevant portions on the Christological debates in J.N.D. Kelly’s Early Christian Doctrines

I had a bit of chuckle earlier this week when I discovered that the copy of Athanasius that I checked out from the Lipscomb library was originally owned by J.W. Shepherd, noted author of The Church, the Falling Away and the Restoration (1929). 

Observance of Lent continues, if muted.  After an excellent Ash Wednesday service, things have going along well, I suppose.

More soon…

6 responses to “update

  1. Ive been trying to sell my copy of Shepherd’s horrendous book.
    I have been liking Kelly’s summation of the early discussions, maybe not perfect, but definitely informative for a broad overview.

  2. hello friend,
    drop me an email,
    icekm – AT – aol.com
    Mac

  3. Chris,

    Thanks for commenting on my blog about Gardner Hall’s review of Kingdom Come. And I do take him and the “non-institutional” CofCs very seriously. I was delighted by his review though I disagree with some of his concerns. But that is what dialogue is all about.

    Glad to see you reading Shepherd. He was a kind and generous man. He needs more nuanced views on a few things in his history but it is sort of the canonical version of who we are.

    Glad to know you are still coming by. Enjoy Holy Week.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  4. Me again. I forgot to save your email. Can you drop me another line?

    Many thanks, and apologies,
    Mac

  5. Hey Chris,

    Got your voice mail over the holiday. Sorry I have yet to respond…am sick, but will call soon.

    Take care,
    M

Leave a Reply

