the end

My semester is complete. I finished exams just over a week ago and was pleased with the results. I’m already looking forward to next semester (beginning 8 January). Let’s just say that I have a lot of reading to do between now and then. Here’s the lineup:

  • Hebrew 2
  • Critical Interpretation of the Old Testament
  • Genesis
  • Alexandrian Christianity (a readings course @ Vanderbilt that I’m trying to get into — keep your fingers crossed…)

So, in short, I’ll be spending my semester in the OT and I’ll learn how to allegorize it all (!). In the meantime, I’m reading. A lot.

For Genesis:

For the readings course, we’ll be spending most of the time working with primary sources (Philo, Clement of Alexandria, Origen, Arius, Athanasius and Cyril), but over the break, in order to provide the necessary context, I’m reading:

***

Other pursuits continue on as normal.  Work is a pleasure rather than a chore.  I never had a straightforward, service-sector/manual labor job when I was a teenager (or in college), so I have a lot to learn.  But I think that I’ll be better for the experience.

I’m considering (time permitting) beginning piano lessons after the first of the year.  I’ll keep you posted.

My leisure reading of late, as time allows, has been very focused.  I recently read Disciples and the Church Universal, the proceedings of the Forrest F. Reed Lectures (sponsored by the Disciples of Christ Historical Society) for 1966.  It contains lectures by Robert O. Fife, David Edwin Harrell,  Jr., and Ronald Osborn.  Anyway, it got me interested in the process of Restructure in the DoC during the 1950s and 1960s.  I checked out from Lipscomb’s library the Reed Lectures for 1965, delivered by W.B. Blakemore (who commuted from being an observer at Vatican II to deliver these lectures in Nashville), and the first volume of the Panel of Scholars Reports, entitled The Reformation of Tradition.  It makes for fascinating reading.  As I process it all, I hope to blog on at least a bit of it.

***

H. and I will be out of town for the holiday (first to Atlanta, then to Alabama), returning at the end of next week.

Merry Christmas!

4 responses to “the end

  1. Chris,

    You need to read Ratzinger’s “In the Beginning,” a book he wrote on Genesis 1-2 years ago while still “Ratzinger.” It’s short, profound, and, if you’d like, free to be sent your way via Dan Greeson some weekend. 🙂

    Wishing you a Merry Feast of the Holy Nativity! And 12 joy-filled days of Christmas feasting!

    Kevin Burt

  2. That was confusing. I meant, “…a book that he wrote years ago, on Genesis chapters 1-2.” I’m not sure of the date (early 80s or before, though); it’s part of the Ressourcement series.

  3. I’ve seen that book before. I’m thinking that it, and the volumes on Genesis in the Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture series, would be worthwhile supplements to this study.

    It’s going to be pretty intense — all of Genesis in a week.

    I’ll keep you posted on the assigned textbooks as well. They look interesting but I’m engrossed in reading for the Alexandrian Christianity stuff right now.

    C.

  4. Levenson is a good read. You may want to get Fretheim’s new work God and the World in the Old Testament … it should be the book of the year … next to Kingdom Come of course, 🙂

    It is always good to reach “the end” isn’t it!

    Hey, I invite you to check out my new blog series on the Holy Spirit that I began yesterday. Would love some “communal” feedback.

    Blessings for the season.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

Leave a Reply

