update

Thursday morning, 12 October.

I’ve not been blogging much, obviously. School is going well — I’m enjoying the classes and professors, meeting new people, etc. I’m trying to make the most of the experience — I’m getting a reading group together to begin reading the Republic next week. In November, some of us will be going to D.C. to the annual meeting of the Society for Biblical Literature (the professional guild for Biblical scholars) — it’s my first professional meeting, I never went to the APA or the ACL. So, I’m looking forward to it.

As some of you know, I’ve taken a part time job working at the Alektor Cafe (recently voted, I might add, “Best Spiritual Cafe and Bookstore” by the Nashville Scene). Although I originally approached it as just a job, I’m liking it alot.  Along that line, here’s a prayer from the BCP:

Almighty God our heavenly Father, you declare your glory and show forth your handiwork in the heavens and in the earth: Deliver us in our various occupations from the service of self alone, that we may do the work you give us to do in truth and beauty and for the common good; for the sake of him who came among us as one who serves, your Son Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.  Amen.

Last weekend, we were able to attend the Doctors Without Borders (MSF) refugee camp exhibit in Centennial Park. It was a guided tour, groups of about 15-20 led by a guide through models of refugee camp tents and shanties, water supplies, food, medical tents, replicas of land mines, and much more. (Go here for a multimedia version of the exhibit.) Very eye opening!

We have, I think, found a church. More later…

In sum, we are quickly becoming Nashvillians. What a great city!

8 responses to “update

  1. OH! youre going to DC in nov. also? We should car pool.
    Im glad youre enjoying the Alektor.
    and im glad nashville is starting to become home. for you somewhat of a homecoming anyway.
    this weekend. coffee or something @ somepoint. i wont be around too long sunday.

    pax

  2. Yeah, I’m going. There are definitely two, possibly three, of us going. I’ll let you know.

    Call me Sat. morning and let’s see what we can work out. I’m going to synagogue Fri. night, but not on Saturday (not this week week anyway).

    C.

  3. I see you went off the deep end, you know, a church with a steeple.

    Ken

  4. I am glad that I came across your blog. I enjoyed reading it. Love of for you to check out my blog anytime. Lookforward to reading more of your posts in the future.

  5. Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to comment on anything you see here.

    Best,

    C.

  6. Nice new blog design!

  7. chris, when do you work at alektor? i haven’t stopped by in way too long. hurts as they don’t do the mornings like they used too. maybe i can get jonathon and myself to come by and geek out over some tea or my standard pot of coffee.

    ps: like the new look

  8. Hey Gavin,

    I’ve typically been working everyday through lunch (10 to 3, give or take). In the short term, this week and next, I’m cutting back to Tues., Wed., and (possibly) Friday in the afternoons.

    Maybe I’ll see you there.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

