we’re here

Nashville, day 3.

Met up with Daniel Greeson this morning for breakfast. Some good conversation about Orthodoxy and other topics over pancakes.

Over to Lipscomb this afternoon to discuss registration for classes. I’m signing up for

  • Biblical Tools and Research
  • Critical Interpretation of the New Testament
  • Intro to Biblical Hebrew
  • Isaiah
  • Old Testament World

I’m pretty excited; it’s just too bad that I have to sit on that excitement for 3 weeks. Ideally, though, I’ll have things to do to keep me busy. We visit our first congregation tonight — expect a full report later in the week. Hopefully, nothing will hit the fan when I tell them I’m a L@!*8%& student. We shall see.

Overall, I’m excited to be in Nashville — so many opportunities lay ahead, so many new people to meet, so many things to learn. I know that God has a purpose for me here. At the same time, it’s hard not to be a little down. I miss Newnan. I miss the people that we formed relationships with. I’m praying a lot for them — for Christina, that she will overcome the drugs; for David, that he can get back on his feet; for Steve, that God will grant him the grace and strength to continue what we started at South Newnan; for Gary, a true NT evangelist, that the fire of God’s Spirit will continue with him, inspiring him to take God’s kingdom into dark and forgotten places. I miss Gallery Row and the baristas and regulars that I came to know. (I’m sitting in a coffeeshop right now, thinking about its potential as a new hangout.) I miss South Newnan (grateful for the people that I have been blessed to know and realizing that another congo like that will be almost impossible to come by). I miss the amazing summer that I just had, hanging out with people, talking about Jesus and teaching the Bible. (In case you’re wondering, I still don’t miss my job.)

About three weeks ago, we had a cookout at David and Christina’s motel(/crackhouse). Christina’s partner, Wally, was there. David had invited a couple of his friends, who are Mormon elders, over and we also had some of David’s friends from neighboring rooms, including a girl who made her living by prostituting herself, I later found out (I’ve never met a real-live, in the flesh prostitute before, which is why I mention that detail). With Hannah along, we had quite a mix of people. At the beginning of the summer, I confess, I was a little weirded out about spending time at the motel (it’s crawling with roaches, for one thing); I didn’t feel quite safe. But as the summer progressed and I met more of the people who lived there and as I sat to break bread with them, I saw Jesus. And I learned something about the nature of the kingdom of God and the power of Jesus’ message.

I pray that I can put some of the lessons that I learned into practice in Nashville.

3 responses to “we’re here

  1. Here, here, Chris. Thank you for your honest and insightful post about the transition to Nashville and missing Newnan. Funny, I never fully realized while you were there how much you had come to love it. (Perhaps that’s what I get for only visiting half-a-dozen times!)

    Thank you, as well, for your review of your summer. I wish I had been able to be more a part of it. At any rate, I just wanted you to know how much I admire the maturity and wisdom you’ve gained in the last few years. I’m terribly proud to be your friend.

    Let’s talk soon.

    Xaris kai agape,
    MBH

  2. Are you at David Lipscomb or Vandy?

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  3. I think I found the answer.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

Leave a Reply

