brief update

Hannah and I are off to Memphis this weekend to see some friends. Hebrew lessons are continuing — I am at the point where I am comfortable with the alphabet and pronunciation. I’ll be moving into grammatical stuff soon.

The formal letter of acceptance from Lipscomb arrived in the mail today. It’s good to know that I’ll have something to do when we arrive in Nashville. 🙂

I took last Sunday off from South Newnan to visit St Elias Antiochian Orthodox Church, in Decatur. I’ll post some reflections on that visit when we get back into town next week.

See you all soon!

6 responses to “brief update

  1. oohhh
    orthodoxy, Ive been reading some stuff by Orthodox guys, great stuff!

  2. Shalom, haver!

    What courses will you be taking in the fall. I think I’m taking OT World and Preaching/Teaching.

    When you get settled in drop by DCHS for a tour and a cup of coffee.

    Grace and peace.

  3. Congrats on your “official” acceptance, my friend, and here’s hoping your holiday to Memphis is enjoyable. Talk to you soon, MBH

  4. Mac,

    I haven’t registered yet. I suppose I need to call up and find out about that sort of thing and other matters — like when I need to report, etc.

    Anyway, I’m definitely interested in OT World, Isaiah and the beginning Hebrew course. We’ll see.

    Looking forward to meeting you!

    Chris

  5. Chris,
    Wish I had been able to recommend a church to you BEFORE you visited Memphis! We attended St. John the Forerunner Antiochian Orthodox Church our whole last year in Memphis. A wonderful group of mostly former Evangelical Christians who still retain their Evangelical spirit as Orthodox Christians.

    St. John’s had easily the most heavenly liturgy I have ever experienced. With the exception of one or two Catholic Churches, nothing else I’ve seen has come anywhere close.

    If you’re ever in Memphis again, make sure you get to St. John’s on Sunday morning. You have probably heard what the Czar’s prelates said about Orthodoxy. The story goes that, way back whenever it was…8th century or so???….they were sent out to find the best religion for Russia to embrace under the reign of this new Czar. After visiting Constantinople and seeing the liturgy in the Church of Hagia Sophia, they returned to the czar with this report: “We have found the place where heaven has come to earth.”

    orthodoxy has such a beautiful divine liturgy.

    Kevin

  6. Sounds like it would have been much more edifying than the congo that we attended on Sunday morning in Memphis…

    C.

Leave a Reply

