tidbits

Teaching middle school is an enervating experience. It's standardized testing week, so I get a bit of a break. Five more weeks left!

My favorite coffee shop here in Newnan (3 minutes from our apt.) is closing at the end of the month, reportedly to be turned into another coffee shop. I've gotten so used to unwinding at the end of the day with a caramel latte and a book that I don't quite know what I'm going to do in the interim. There's Starbucks, I guess…

A word to the curious: Lipscomb University is not looking for new students for entrance to its M.Div. program.  UPDATE (6 pm, 4/19): After leaving multiple messages, someone returned my call.  I'll keep you posted.

Go and read this post on U2 and liturgy.

Psalm 55.10 struck me the other day: "Day and night the watchmen make their rounds upon her walls, but trouble and misery are in the midst of her." (translation from the BCP Psalter). The favorite hobbies of some continue to wreak havoc in God's Church — I recently heard about a church which Hannah and I used to attend that is in the process of tearing itself apart over the issue of divorce and remarriage. May God have mercy on those — no matter on what side of what argument — who rend the Body of Christ (1 Cor. 3.16-17).

7 responses to “tidbits

  1. Sad to hear about the problems @ the congregation.

    the DoC congregation hasnt worked out so far…
    and neither has the Episcopal church here in town…
    Im trying out United Methodists right now…

  2. I suppose sometimes “division must come”.

  3. Yeah, but a lot of times I think that’s a copout. Most of the time we’re simply too lazy to check our attitudes or allow that we might be wrong about something OR to realize that dividing the Body is like spitting in God’s face. We are, to sum up, far too casual with our attitudes toward unity/division.

  4. Hey Chris, welcome back! Keep us posted on Lipscomb.

  5. I think on the other hand, it is true sometimes that division is necessary. It is too easy to divide over things that are insignificant, but I guess depending on what these churches believe about divorce & remarriage. The thing about it is that many times, when this does happen – 1) people do take it seriously and 2) are always hurt when something like this happens. These groups are just adamant about what they believe the Bible teaches.

    I’m not saying that division is recommended or advisable, but Paul’s point in 1 Cor. is that if it has to come, then it will. However, sadly today in our post-modern society, many believe that what the Bible says on just about anything is not really important. What if, in this situation, there is a group who has made their stand on the truth?

  6. Joel,

    Thanks for your comments. Agreed, division is sometimes necessary. I think, too, that it is too easy to divide over things that are insignificant. That seems to be the crux of the problem. Many Christians don’t seem to know where that line is. My reading of the NT suggests to me that the list of things over which a group should divide is rather small. But how do we arrive at the list, much less agree on it when we do :-)?

    Secondly, regarding MDR, what frustrates me about this whole debate/argument is that I see very few brethren who have exhausted all of their options with respect to maintaining unity. Many don’t seem to have tried at all, they just seem to be itching for a good fight and this is just the issue that happens to be closest to hand.

    If we were really serious about the issue itself (and not just its value as a test of one’s doctrinal purity) it seems like we would be paying alot more attention to the preservation of existing marriages instead of the arcane details of hypothetical divorces.

    That’s my read on this issue. I don’t mean to imply that I think divorce unimportant or even to imply that I disagree with what is generally referred to as the “conservative” position on this issue; what I have a major problem with is how brothers and sisters in Christ are treating those with whom they disagree.

    Again, thanks for stopping by and joining in the discussion!

    Chris

  7. All along the watchtower
    Princes kept the view.
    While all the women came and went,
    Bare-foot servants, too.
    Outside in the cold distance,
    A wild cat did growl.
    Two riders were approaching
    And the wind began to howl.

Leave a Reply

