stuff

OK. So that post on Dick Blackford wasn’t coming “soon”…

Anyway, I’ve been absolutely swamped over the past couple of weeks with school and have barely had time to think of much else.

I’m having good success with my Latin I’s. I think they’ve got the genitive case — keeping my fingers crossed — and they didn’t flinch when I explained the concept of gender. My second year kids are a different story, however. Many of them, in truth, should not be in second year Latin. But that’s another post.

I’ve been teaching Philippians to a Wednesday night adult Bible class for the past few weeks. It’s going pretty well so far. I’ve been getting good reviews. The biggest ‘argument’ that we’ve had so far is over where the letter was written from!

Advent observation has been invigorating . The morning BCP readings are drawn from Isaiah with a focus on prophetic passages. I’ve been complementing this with Alister McGrath’s Incarnation, Michael Perham’s Glory in Our Midst, and the De Incarnatione Verbi Dei of St Athanasius. The volume by McGrath is especially well done: it incorporates reflection on church history and Scripture with meditations on works of art that depict the events of Advent and Christmas (e.g. Rosetti’s Ecce Ancilla Domini and Van Gogh’s Good Samaritan.

Of course all of this is being crammed into my weekends because I surely don’t have time during the week for more than my daily readings!

Anyway, our little congo in Newnan celebrated Christmas this past week. Our preacher (we don’t actually have one — but there is one from Atlanta who comes every couple of weeks) preached an excellent sermon from Luke 2. He emboldened me so that I led Wesley’s Hark the Herald Angels Sing before the sermon. This is the first time I’ve heard an actual Christmas sermon in an NI church of Christ (for a nice set of observations about Advent from a mainline cofCer, go here). A sign of the apocalypse????

One last thing for my NI readers (both of you). Go check out Non-Institutional Churches of Christ Study. Jack Holt, whom I first ran across on the Grace-Centered Magazine message boards, has undergone quite a shift in his thinking of late as regards many of our (NI) traditions. His new website (which appears to be updated with new stuff fairly regularly) lays out these shifts in thinking and is, I think, a provocative wake-up call to NI cofC’s to re-examine some of our most deeply held beliefs. Now the down side: after beginning a 45-day restudy with his congregation, Jack has resigned his preaching position due in no small part to outside (congregational autonomy anyone?) pressures. Pray for him and his future; please pray for the congregation as well.

Gracious Father, we pray for thy holy catholic Church. Fill it with all truth, in all truth with all peace. Where it is corrupt, purify it; where it is in error, direct it; where in any thing it is amiss, reform it. Where it is right, strengthen it; where it is in want, provide for it; where it is divided, reunite it; for the sake of Jesus Christ thy Son our Savior. Amen.

One response to “stuff

  1. Very very interesting website. I am glad he is coming to those conclusions…
    We also here @ COBG celebrated Christmas, it was excellent.
    We need to talk soon, some major stuff has occured recently.
    I hope all things are well
    shalom
    daniel

Leave a Reply

